“Compassion”

First off, I don’t dislike Christians in general. I don’t even dislike Christianity. Yet every time I hear someone declare the United States a Christian country, I want to scream at them.

I could get into the whole melting pot thing again or even the escape from religious persecution thing again. But what I’m going to address is when people declare the US to be a “Christian country” they seem to forget the phrase “Christian charity.” The new “America First” budget proposed by the White House, besides having massive military spending, major cuts to the state department, major cuts to the EPA, etc, also includes cuts to:
-the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program: They help poor people pay for heat in the winter.
-the Legal Services Corporation: Provides free legal assistance to the poor.
-the Community Development Block Grant Program: This program includes Meals on Wheels which provides meals for the elderly, poor, and disabled.
-the Child Care and Development Block Grant Program: This includes the program Head Start which provides breakfast for poor school children.

Mick Mulvaney, a graduate of a Catholic high school (So I’m going to assume he’s Catholic), and a White House Budget Director was asked if the budget was “hard-hearted.” To which Mulvaney replied in defense: “No, I don’t think so. In fact, I think it’s—I think it’s probably one of the most compassionate things we can do…”

There you have it. Mulvaney thinks he’s being compassionate in letting poor children and poor elderly not to have food. People like him actually make me wish there is a heaven and a hell. I would like to know how Mulvaney would tell God that he was “compassionate” in letting the poor starve. I would like Mulvaney to experience starvation and understand the meaning of compassion.

Leave a Reply

